Removable Flower

I really like the idea of flowers on hats and headbands. They’re really cute and girls of all ages like them. The thing that I don’t like about them? Permanent attachment. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great idea for most projects. But there’s some I was always hesitant about. Like way back for my baby cousin L I made her a set of headbands with removable flowers. The button was attached to the headband and the flowers slipped over that. But I wasn’t fully happy because the headband could never be worn by itself. There was always that darn button. So I was on the hunt to find a truly and fully removable flower.

I believe it was Pinterest who came to my aid! I swear it’s always Pinterest. But I found this great idea over at Tw-in Stitches {a crochet blog} and she had the same problem / thoughts I was having! So I took her pictures and used her idea and ran with it. The result (just the same as hers) was AMAZING! A fully functional flower accessory that’s completely removable with no left overs! Woohoo! Now I’ll try to explain what I did.

So first I made my flower. I used Salena Baca’s 6 Petal Flower With Leaves but minus the leaves. Turned out rather nice don’t you think? It was a little confusing where exactly to put the sc between the petals so I had to fudge it and there was a prominent line between the first and last petals (at least to me). But still turned out so much better than all my previous flowers. Oh I suppose I should say I used a 5.5mm hook and Red Heart Super Saver in Pretty N Pink and With Love in Black and Gray and 3 big pink buttons.

Now comes the really cool removable part. Flip your flower over. I sewed a tiny little button to the back of petal layer number two. On the opposite petal (still in layer two) I attached my yarn and did what I believe is 3 sc. Then I went back and forth for a couple rows until the strap would reach across the back of the flower to the first edge of the button. Then I did a couple chain stitches and slip stitched it to the other side to form a loop that would go over the button. It looks like I did 4 chains. It was a tiny button. And that’s it!! Don’t forget to weave your ends! Those would definitely ruin the finished look.

You now have a flower that is 100% removable! All you have to do is insert the strap between two stitches on the hat, loop it around a couple stitches (to make sure its secure), poke it back through to the front of the hat and secure it with the button! Ta-da!! I haven’t tested this on any other flowers since but I believe it would also work. I made it three times using Salena’s flower.

m-wearing-hats

Here’s M and her Mom both wearing the hats while she was getting her 4th of 6 chemo treatments šŸ™‚

On the Hook:

  • Bacon and Eggs Scarf
  • Baby G’s things
  • St. Francis – possibly

Leave a comment