Ava Boot Cuffs

I can’t remember exactly why I decided to make these other than I knew they were going to be a gift to my great friend L. I can’t even tell you what made me go “L really needs a pair of boot cuffs” but something did and I made them. She’s told me she loves them and I got pictures way back in October 2015 when I gave them to her. She could be lying for all I know and I wouldn’t care. Because I asked her before hand if she would like some and she said yes. So if she doesn’t like them that’s on her šŸ˜‰ But I really do think she does šŸ™‚

ava-boot-cuff2

The Ava Boot Cuff is from designer Michelle from Two Brother’s Blankets. I absolutely adore all her designs!! Her clothing is so amazing! Sadly, I have yet to make any of her other patterns šŸ˜¦ One day though because I have several tops saved up for myself. Like the Camden Hat, Houston Hoodie, and Siesta Sweater just to name a few. If you’re not familiar with Michelle’s work you seriously need to go check her out. Like right now. Why are you still reading this?!

ava-boot-cuff1

I used Red Heart Super Saver in Buff and Medium Thyme and a 5.5mm hook. Sadly, as with everything apparently, I wasn’t able to meet gauge. The pattern was simple enough that I was able to wing it for my measurements using the pattern as a guideline. And it worked out fabulous!! On the fourth round of the body of the cuff I changed to Medium Thyme and then back to Buff for the last two rows. Then to spice it up, I took a piece of the Medium Thyme and threaded it through the rows above and below the color stripe. And then I added a few buttons to each cuff as well. Now that I have boots that I wear pretty often I think I might need to whip myself up a pair, or two.

ava-boot-cuff3

On the Hook:

  • Bacon and Eggs Scarf
  • Baby G’s things
  • Saint Francis doll
Leave a Reply

