Golden Tide Helmet

For those of you that don’t know, I live in a small down in west central Pennsylvania. When I say small, I mean small. I used to think I grew up in a small town, until I moved here. C-ville has two stop lights. Well three if you count the blinky one across town. Definitely a big change from outside of King of Prussia. Man I miss that mall, especially now that it has totally upgraded. Sigh. Now I have to travel an hour to get either to State College or Altoona or work up for the 2.5-3 hour trip to the outlets in Grove City. Woohoo! But life’s not about malls!!

Our tiny town is built around the West Branch of the Susquehanna River! All thanks to the lumber industry back in the day and the family owned company that still has its headquarters right here in C-ville. Since the river cuts the town in half our school mascot is the Golden Tide. Yes it’s a wave. Yes it’s gold. I’m not really sure why but the outfit isn’t really pretty. It reminds me of a Twinkie with a toupee. Anyways….

Luke helps coach our football team. Over the few years we’ve made friends with some of the other coaches and their wives. It was nice all of us girls watching and cheering together. Then one announced she was pregnant. And another. And another. And I switched to drinking bottled water because I did not want what was in the tap. And then they all had a second round of kids. And then some had thirds! So now when we’re at the games there’s a bunch of kids running around and it’s adorable!

You’re probably starting to wonder where I’m going. A couple of those new kiddos happened to be boys and how could I not say no to a football helmet styled hat?! I made the girls hats too but they were just school colors. I wanted my hat to match as close to possible to our helmets. Our colors are black and gold. Go figure being this close to Pittsburgh. But it’s more of a Penguins gold than it is Steelers gold. More of a true gold. And our helmets actually have a special paint that makes them sparkle. They’re so cool looking. So I looked around and found what I thought was the best option, Caron Simply Soft in Autumn Maize.

This yarn is amazing. It’s super soft so perfect for baby’s head. Somehow I’m able to get what seems like a kazillion hats from two skeins. Win-win! Since it’s thinner than Red Heart Super Saver I had to make up a whole new basic beanie. The math is most likely in one of my bajillion notebooks so if I ever make this again, I’ll be posting the pattern up for sure! It’s sized to fit 0-3 months and done with a 4.0mm hook. I wanted the earflaps short and stubby so they looked more like a helmet so I only did 6ish rows and ended with 3ish stitches. I ended it with a surface slip stitched GT on each side.

I think they look pretty darn similar!! This picture credit goes to a player’s mom who takes pictures at all the games. Isn’t she wonderful?! Here Luke is doing his thing and getting the kids excited. I say kids because our kicker is a girl! Woohoo!! She’s pretty awesome too. Here’s to another good season and more helmet hats!

On the Hook:

  • Cat Butt Coasters
  • Messy Bun Beanie
  • Birthday Scarf

Leave a comment