Sorting Hat

Ok so getting back into the swing of things, this should be where I left off.

Luke’s cousin C told us that she was expecting a wee baby boy in October 2015. Yay! It was slightly pretty easy to figure out what I was going to make Baby L thanks to the interest of his parents C and J. C is really big into Harry Potter so what was better than a teeny tiny little sorting hat?? And J plays hockey so how about a little hockey set?? Adorable! Today’s post will be on the sorting hat (was it obvious?) and the next two will cover the hockey set.

sorting-hat1

I used A[mi]dorable’s free newborn sorting hat pattern with RHSS in coffee and a 6.00mm hook. I used such a big hook because she has no gauge listed and I wanted the hat to be wearable somewhat. I had also found an error on Round 17. It should read: sc x 3, inc x 7, sc x 3 (38). I also added two more rounds after rounds 26-29 because I didn’t think it was long enough. Remember, I wanted this to be bigger than newborn size. I left out round 33. I thought the brim was wide enough without it and doing that last round made the brim more straight than wavy. Overall I thought this was a great pattern! I had a lot of fun sewing on the eyes and mouth.

sorting-hat2

On the Hook:

  • Triangle Scarf for class
  • Baby Boy things
  • Mandala Shrug
4 thoughts on “Sorting Hat

Leave a Reply

