Monkey Lovey

This last part of the baby shower gift is a two parter. It’s part paid pattern and part my own made up stuff. I was seeing loveys everywhere and needed an excuse to make one. So when better than now, err then? It was my first one so it was a bit daunting. Especially the ones with just a head and arms then the blanket. And with only instructions reading along the lines of “sew arms and head to blanket” I was really put off of making them. What if I didn’t do it right and it didn’t look good? What if they fell off? Doubtful based on all the amigurumis I’ve made over the years. But I really was nervous and scared to make one. So I found this pattern for a Monkey Lovey by Jackie Ramsdell and decided to give it a shot.

s5002636v2

I used Red Heart Super Saver in Coffee and Buff with  4.25mm (head) and 5.5mm hooks (blanket). I used the head pattern as written and just changed up eyes and ears. The eyes were supposed to be made in three pieces and sewn on top of eachother but I didn’t want to do that and just made one circle and changed colors each round. The same thing was to be done with the ears but I just changed colors. Looking back I either should have made two pieces (one coffee and one buff) and sewn them together. Or I should have made two pieces (one with both colors and one coffee) and sewn those together. Because the way I did it you’re able to see the color changes from the back. I didn’t even think of that. But I had probably waited til the last minute and was out of time as is.

s5002635v2

Because arms and stuff scared me I just finished with the head. I didn’t want a regular back and forth blanket like the pattern had and instead did a regular granny square that measures 14 x 14 inches. I finished it off with the crab stitch aka reverse single crochet. If you don’t know what that is, I highly recommend looking it up! I love adding it to any size blankets for a super simple edging.

s5002640v2

Overall I think it turned out rather cute 🙂 I’ll definitely be making more loveys in the future because they are a lot easier than full ami’s (umm hello! less parts to sew together) and they’re just as cute. Maybe one day I’ll conquer adding arms. So far that day hasn’t come yet. Maybe this year??

On the Hook

  • Baby G’s things
  • Bacon and Eggs Scarf
  • Planned Pooling Scarf
Leave a Reply

