Hogwarts House Scarves

I have made several Harry Potter scarves over the years. Five House scarves and one Quidditch Team scarf to be exact. I plan to have a complete House set for myself one day. I know there’s a bunch of patterns out there for the basic big block scarf look (which is what I’ve always done) but I still would like to share what I did. Before I get to that I would like to share a bit about these projects. It all started many many years ago…

Back in high school my best friend E introduced me to the world of Harry Potter by taking me to see Prisoner of Azkaban in theaters. Yes I know I started out of order but it happens. We even played hooky and skipped school to see it!! (Sorry Mom) I loved it so much I needed the others! So then I saw Chamber of Secrets and Sorcerer’s Stone (again out of order). I still needed more! That Christmas my brother (with a little help from my dad) gave me all the books which was just 1-5 at the time. Those books quickly rose to become one of my favorites.

Flash forward and it is now 2007 and Order of the Phoenix is being released in theaters. It was our first midnight movie release and I wanted to make it special. I made Gryffindor House Scarves for E and myself to wear. Don’t we look adorable?

hp1

While we were in line there was a couple sitting next to us who we started chatting to. I don’t remember their names anymore but they loved what I had made. They ordered scarves for themselves with the name “Harry Potter” and “Lily Evans” also embroidered on the ends. It was my first paid order. EVER! I was so excited. I really wish I had taken pictures but I didn’t. Oh well

Then came the midnight movie release of Deathly Hallows: Part 1. I was going to see it with Luke instead of E so naturally he needed a little bling. Since his favorite character is Krum I made him a Bulgarian Quidditch Team scarf. I did it in the same fashion but used the colors from the movie. He doesn’t wear it much so I kind of commandeered it for myself.

hp2.JPG

The books had ended, the movies were over, and I thought that was going to be it. But then it was announced we were all getting a new movie!! I can not WAIT to see this! It was at that point I caved and joined Pottermore. Turns out I’m a Hufflepuff. Should have seen that coming. I vowed that I was going to make a new scarf for the new movie in my house. AND HERE IT IS!!! I absolutely love it!

hp3.JPG

So without further ado, here’s my pattern!

Worsted Weight Yarn – I used Red Heart Super Saver in Bright Yellow and Black (Hufflepuff), Burgundy and Gold (Gryffindor), and Burgundy and Black (Bulgaria)

Size I – 5.5mm hook

Start with Main Color (Yellow or Burgundy)

Row 1: chain 22, sc in 2nd chain from hook and across. Turn [21sc]

Rows 2-18: chain 1, sc across [21sc]

Change to Contrasting Color (Black or Gold)

Rows 1-18: chain 1, sc across [21sc]

The yellow was thinner than the black for Hufflepuff. So I had to do 17 instead of 18 rows to get each block to be the same size. Mine are 4.125 (4 1/8) inches tall.

Repeat these two blocks for a total of 19 blocks, ending with Main Color.

To add fringe I wrapped yarn around my phone 5 times before cutting. Attach on ends in every other stitch starting with Main Color for a total of 11 tassles. Each fringe should have 10 strands of yarn. I left my ends at different lengths but I might go back and cut them all the same.

That’s about it! Very simple. Don’t forget to weave in your ends!!

HufflepuffHouseScarf

Leave a Reply

