Doctor, Who?

Some of the patterns that I have tested have been released from Creative Threads by Leah!! I thought I’d share what I’ve been doing for her along with links to where to get the patterns. She’s been feeding my nerd fix.

Not sure if you know but I’m a Whovian. I’ve also been dying to make something from the Who-niverse. Thanks to Leah now I have!

I also taught myself Tunisian crochet while doing it! I think of it like a typewriter. Instead of a normal hook you use an extra long one (14 inches) with a stopper on the end. You go along each row inserting the hook into stitches and drawing up loops. Instead of pulling those loops through each other to make one stitch, you keep them open on the hook. So you have many open loops on the hook, kind of like knitting. Then when you get to the end of the row, you yarn over and bring through two loops at a time working your way back to the right. That’s were the typewriter bit comes in in my mind. That completes one row. Then you’re done! No turning of the work either. It was super simple to learn after the aid of a video and goes rather quickly once I had it under my belt. It looks a little different than regular crochet. To me the stitches look more square and you get a cleaner color change. See if you can spot which of the four was done in Tunisian.

If you guessed the little lonely guy on the right (an Adipose) you’d be correct!! So what I’ve made here are drink sleeves. Totally awesome. I made the 10th Doctor, a TARDIS, a Dalek, and an Adipose. There’s also an 11th Doctor that you’re able to buy right now and a few others that are currently with testers. I bet you’re all wondering where you can get the amazing patterns for these cozies. Well I’ll tell you.

Doomsday Drink Sleeve

Caffeinate! (Dalek) Drink Sleeve

Bow Ties Are Cool! Drink Sleeve

Those are the only three she has available right now but as she releases more I’ll post them here as well! She’s got great stuff so you should check out everything else she’s got! Fantastic!!

Leave a Reply

