Knight’s Helmet

I finished a project over the weekend!! Well mostly finished. I still have one part to make and then sew on but I’m waiting for that until my foam head arrives in the mail because I think it’ll be easier to attach that way. What I have (mostly) finished is Luke’s Knight’s Helmet!! I’m super excited because it had been taking me a little while mostly because I kept pushing it to the back burner. And then with the whole there not being a gauge to go with the pattern thing I had to frog it a couple of times to get it to fit right. But it all worked out in the end and he loves it so far! Without further ado I will post a few ‘teaser’ photos. There will be more once it’s completely finished.

                           

I went a little different from the pattern. Mostly because there was no gauge and I like to put my own little take on things.

First difference: I used my own pattern for the main part of the hat. I used the technique found at Slugs on the Refrigerator to be able to make a custom fit. I pretty much use this guy every time I make a hat.

Second difference: I used two different shades of gray at the same time instead of two strands of the same gray. That was Luke’s choice. I let him have full rein of the finished project since it is his.

Third difference: I added some stitches and rows to the neck protection area. But that was solely to please his majesty.

Fourth difference: I added a third strand of gray (yet a different color) to the visor to add that bit of glitter you see there.

Fifth difference: I had to add a few rows onto the largest size of the visor even though Luke was measured as needing the medium size. Not sure if this was due to lack of gauge or he has a larger forehead/face. But that wasn’t too big of a problem.

So I have a foam head coming in and when it gets here I plan on adding the fin to the top. I’ve had some issues in the past with getting the extras to line up straight on hats before so I’m hoping having a foam head to place it on will help a lot and make it a bit easier.

The free pattern can be found on Ravelry HERE

On the hook:

  • Red Heart CAL Textured blanket
  • Pay-It-Forward for Erin

 

One thought on “Knight’s Helmet

  1. Pingback: Promised Pictures – Frozen and Knight’s Helmet | DiPaul's Designs

Leave a Reply

