Mom’s present – tile coasters

Finished my non-yarn project!! You know, that breakable Christmas present I’m making for my mom, the tile coasters. I’ve done them several times before using scrapbook paper or clippings from magazines but this was my first time using actual photos. I must say, making them was exactly the same and I LOVE how they turned out. I might make these using only photos from now on. So let me explain how I did this.

Firstly I gathered all my materials. Some 4×4 inch tiles from Lowe’s (mine cost me $0.16 a piece!), Mod Podge (I used the matte finish), a sealer of some sort (I’ve tried Valspar’s perfect finish clear sealer before and it didn’t work so now I’ve switched over to using Rust-oleum’s ultimate polyurethane), some paint brushes, and some felt backing (I picked up a package from Ollie’s of green felt pads to put on the bottom of furniture with the sticky backs for a few bucks).

Secondly I cut the photos to fit the 4×4 inch tile. I put a thin coat of Mod Podge on the back of the photo and pressed it to the front of the tile. Make sure you press it down real good and get all the air bubbles out. Then I put a coat of Mod Podge on the front of the picture to make sure it stays down. It says on the bottle to let it dry for 20 minutes but I always let mine dry over night just in case. I then put a second coat on the front of the photo and let dry. Next comes the polyurethane. Put one thin coat on first, let dry, then put on a second.

When everything was dry I flipped them over, cut the felt to size, and stuck those babies on. And viola! Coasters. I didn’t think up this idea on my own. I had seen it floating around Pinterest for the longest time before attempting my first coaster over a year ago. With some trial and error this is the method that works best for me. You might find something else you like.

Don’t be scared by the people in these photos. My goal behind choosing these pictures was to make sure we were all making funny faces. My mom’s super deep in empty nest syndrome with me (her oldest) having moved out a few years ago the same time her only son joined the Marines, and my 19 year old sister being half moved out she’s only got my 13 year old sister left at home. We’ve always been a super goofy type of family so using pictures like these were a no brainer. They capture all of us perfectly. And my mom’s super sentimental so I know she’ll love them. And she’s always complaining that she doesn’t have coasters so I know they’ll be used too.

Leave a Reply

