Nemo Hat

Whenever I hear of someone having a baby my immediate reaction (besides the obvious first thought of ‘oh wow congratulations this is an amazing thing I’m so happy for you guys!’) is ‘what am I going to make?’ Sometimes it’s very easy and ideas just start pouring. Perfect example is winter babies. Whip them up a hat or two, some of those baby mittens, maybe a pair of socks if I feel up to those. I just have to come up with a color or theme. Other times I have to think for what seems like ages. Especially if it’s for a friend that I thought I knew until I started thinking and then realize ‘jeez after knowing this couple for X years I know nothing‘ Well at least I feel that way sometimes. That kind of happened with this gift.

So we met E and S at one of L’s infamous parties because they’re neighbors. Now we see them basically every time we’re at L’s and Luke talks to S pretty regularly. Particularly thanks to a mobile game that I will not be getting into. Seriously, don’t start me on that. But they announced they were having a baby girl and WOOHOO! In the summer ….. What do I make a summer baby?? Yea I just made a bunch of baby sandals but do newborns really keep things on their feet?

nemo-front

Then someone (probably Luke, darn his good ideas) suggested just making a bigger hat to wear in the fall. Brilliant! Now the issue was what kind of hat do I make?? I asked S if there was anything E really liked and he told me about Nemo. Perfect! So then I was on the hunt for a pattern. And I found one! Thanks to Pinterest I found Natasha’s Crochet Clownfish Hat. This would be great to use for all the fishy pieces. Then I needed a hat base. In walked Leah. Well she sent me a Facebook message because she lives very far away. She needed people to test her new Basic Beanie! I signed up for the Infant Basic Beanie and fell in looooove. Met her gauge perfect, the beanies always work up the perfect size every time, and it’s a lot less headache because I don’t have to make my own anymore!! It’s now my go to beanie. I’ve made 11 of the infant sizes since August 2015. Did I mention her basic beanie includes all sizes from preemie through large adult?? Seriously love this woman.

nemo-side

I decided to go with the 3-6 months size, a 4.25mm hook, and Red Heart Super Saver in Pumpkin, Black and White. I worked the beanie as is with no issues. I worked up the details as written with the only ‘issue’ being in the Tail Fin where it says to TURN. After reading some comments what she means is Turn and continue working in the back of the original chain. Other than that little bit of confusion I had no problems! Woohoo!! End result is an adorable clownfish aka Nemo beanie. I mean, how cute is little baby E in her hat??

nemo-worn

Now I just need to think of something for their second child, a spring baby…….

On the Hook:

  • Baby G’s things
  • Birthday Scarf
  • Bacon and Eggs Scarf

Leave a comment